quote

Country Music & Smoothies with Lotte

This Morning We're Waking Up With English Rose Lotte in Fort Greene, Brooklyn

Leafy streets, hot guys with babies *rolls eyes*, and one of the best dog cruisin’ parks in Brooklyn—this is Fort Greene at a glance. After strolling the streets and picking the Brownstone we’d like to live in, we came to Lotte’s apartment. How does one prepare for a day at the MoMA, surrounded by the world’s most magnificent art and art-y people? Lotte shares her Wake-Up Call below.

Name: Lotte Johnson

Hometown: London, England

Current location: Fort Greene, Brooklyn

Day job: Curatorial Assistant in the Department of Drawings and Prints at the MoMA

6:50 a.m. My alarm goes off! I turn it off immediately and go back to sleep.

7:00 a.m. Next alarm goes off! I wake up, put my kimono on (purchased at the treasure trove that is Pearl River), and quickly check my emails on my phone. If I’m in a really good mood, I indulge in my morning guilty pleasure—listening to country music (I have a truly great album that my Dad gave me ages ago aptly named, For the Love of Country).

7:12 a.m. Put the kettle on and make a cup of tea or hot water with a squeeze of lemon. Breakfast is a smoothie with berries, almond milk, chia seeds, flax seeds, hemp protein powder, kale, and a spoonful of almond butter. Sometimes I go for a pre-smoothie run in Fort Greene park. Most days, I ditch the run and sit down to check emails properly (everyone at home in England is halfway through their day already), Skype my boyfriend Ed (on his lunchbreak in London), or read an article on Paul Gauguin (an artist I’m working on at the moment).

7:53 a.m. I start making a packed lunch to take to work, realize the time, and panic.

8:08 a.m. Shower, then cleanse, tone, and moisturize with Avene products. I rarely wear makeup to work but if I do, I never go beyond three basic items: Chanel foundation, Maybelline mascara, and Mac lipstick. When it comes to choosing what clothes to wear to work, I can be quite indecisive but I always wear the same three rings every day—one from Ed, one from myself (!), and one that was my great grandmother’s. I usually dress quite smart for work so at the weekend I relish the opportunity to wear trainers (or sneakers as you say over here), jeans, and tie-dye T-shirts.

8:37 a.m. Leave the apartment. My housemate, Alice, and I live directly above the C train, which I take to get to work but I find it a bit strange descending underground as soon as I leave the house, so I usually take a detour via the Greene Grape to pick up a coffee for my journey.

Photography by Eric T. White